News and Events

MHC looking for next honorary degree recipient

November 29, 2012

The Medicine Hat College Board of Governors is once again asking the community for nominations for its annual Honorary Baccalaureate degree. The award will be presented at convocation on June 7, 2013.
The degree has been presented annually at convocation since 2005 to people who have distinguished themselves through exemplary service in our community.

“This is our way of honouring the individuals in our community who dedicate their lives to making our city and world a better place,” said Mark Keller, MHC spokesperson. “They have lived a life of service to community and we want to recognize that.”

In June 2012, the late Roy Wilson was presented with the honorary degree. Wilson was recognized for his many years spent as an instructor at MHC, guiding thousands of students into careers in education. He was also the longest-serving trustee on the Medicine Hat School District No. 76 school board and was a noted local historian.

Other previous winners include Dr. Richard and Deborah Northcott, Bob Porter, John Moldon, Ken Sauer, Jim Horsman, Randy Eresman, and Terry Brekko.

“The honorary degree is the highest honour we can bestow,” Keller said. “We look forward to adding another name to this list in 2013.”

Nominations can be made in confidence by any member of the community. The nomination package can be obtained online or by calling the president’s office at 403.529.3800. Nominations close on January 2, 2013.